Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Louise Rennison won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize!

Louise Rennison won the Roald Dahl funny prize 2010 after beating David Walliams and Quentin Blake to the prize. Her latest novel, Withering Tights, won in the older age category of 7 - 14, and is the first part of a new trilogy about boy-mad 14 year old Tallulah Casey. The younger age category, 6 and under, was won by Louise Yates with her picturebook Dog Loves Books.

I know this is old news, but I just stumbled upon it while I was searching for a Georgia Nicolson Series set. I loved that series when I was younger and it even inspired me to write my own 'journal', entirely in Georgia style. The books are among the funniest books I've ever read - although I have to admit that I haven't read them all yet. There are 10 'official' books now, along with 6 or 7 books that are sidebooks to the series. They're hilarious and whenever I felt a little sad, Louise Rennison's books made me feel better straight away.

Hopefully, I will be able to pick up the entire series next year and re-read them so I can post a review(s) as well. Have you ever read one of the books by Louise Rennison? If so, what did you think of them?

0 reacties:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...